It’s A Process

Elisabeth Kübler-Ross’s On Death and Dying changed the way we talk about the end of life and how we experience the process of grief.

The grief cycle is a non-linear framework to guide us:

Denial- How could this happen? How will I survive? Life makes no sense. Denial let’s us take in only what we can handle.

Anger- This is the bridge to our feelings, something to hold on to and begin to connect with the grief. The anger is the indication of the intensity of love.

Bargaining- I will do anything to change the situation through a series of if only.. or what if..

Depression- When bargaining doesn’t work, we are left with our deepest level of grief in response to the loss.

Acceptance- We face the reality and begin to accept new connections to life.

Your Thoughts...

All content © Copyright 2020 by Bubbe Wisdom.
Subscribe to RSS Feed – Bubbe Wisdom Blog or Container Blog